Embassy of the India – Washington DC


The Embassy of India has jurisdiction over Bermuda, Delaware, District of Columbia, Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Hours of Operation

Monday – Friday
9AM – 4PM

The Consular Section will also be opened on the last Saturday of every month from 10AM to 1PM.

U.S. Citizens

U.S. Citizens need a Indian visa to enter and exit India for any purpose. Most travelers, including those on official U.S. government business, must apply for visas at an Indian embassy or consulate in advance.

U.S. Citizens seeking to enter India as tourists, and who plan to stay no longer than 30 days, may apply for an e-Tourist Visa at least four days prior to their arrival in lieu of applying for a tourist visa at an Indian embassy or consulate.

 The U.S. State Department strongly encourages American Citizens planning international travel to register with the U.S. Embassy in the countries they plan to visit.

Closest Metro Stop:
Dupont Circle
View Metro Map


2107 Massachusetts Ave NW
Washington, DC 20008

Fax: (202) 265-4351

Phone: (202) 939-7000

Consular Section

2536 Massachusetts Ave NW
Washington, DC 20008

Fax: (202) 387-6946

Visa Phone: (202) 939-9888
Passport: (202) 939-9864

The Embassy of India and its Consular Section are located at different locations. While the Chancery is only 2-minutes away from the Dupont Circle Metro Station, the Consular Section is approximately at a 15-minute walk from the station. Use the map and directions shown below to find suggested routes.

Visa-Exempt Countries

Passport holders of the following countries do not need a visa to enter India: Bhutan, Maldives (Up to 90 days stay), and Nepal.

Visitors having a “Persons of Indian Origin Card" are exempted from having a visa to enter India, provided they are not citizens of: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.

Emergency Visa Services

Emergency Visa Services are available on weekends between 11AM-1PM, and are strictly granted to persons of Indian-origin in case of a genuine emergency like death or serious illness of a close relative. This service will be granted based on documentary proof of an emergency and a copy of flight ticket. An amount of US$100 is charged over and above the normal visa fee, for providing the emergency visa service. This service is not available for visa applications sent by Mail.

E-Tourist Visa (eTV)

Passport holders of the following countries may apply for e-Tourist Visas:

Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Island,Chile, China, China- SAR Hong Kong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand,Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam.



1- Travelers visiting India with the objective of sightseeing, visiting friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit.

2- Passport should be valid at least 6 months from your date of arrival in India. The passport should have at least 2 blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer.

3- Travelers should have a return ticket or onward journey ticket, with sufficient money to spend during their stay in India.

4- Travelers having Pakistani Passports or Pakistani origin should apply for regular visa at the embassy.

5- Not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders, to individuals endorsed on Parent’s/Spouse’s Passport, i.e., each individual should have a separate passport, nor to International Travel Document Holders.


E-Tourist Visa Application Process

OnlineE-Tourist Visa (eTV) Application

Applicants may apply online minimum 4 days in advance of the date of arrival with a window of 30 days. For example: If you are applying on September 1, then you can select arrival date from September 5th to October 4th.

Required Documents

The following documents are required for an e-Tourist Visa:

1- Scanned first page of your passport.

2- Scanned passport-size photograph with a white background. The digital photograph should be uploaded along with the visa application.


Instructions for e-Tourist Visa

The documents listed below need to be uploaded by the applicant. The application will be rejected if the uploaded documents are not clear.

1- A digital passport-size photograph.

2- A digital copy of your passport’s data page containing personal details, such as your name, date of birth, nationality, expiry date, etc.

The e-Tourist Visa fee depends upon the type of visa and duration of visa. The fee must be paid at least 4 days before the expected date of travel otherwise the application will not be processed. The fee is non-refundable. The e-Tourist Visa is allowed for a maximum of two visits in a calendar year.


Where is the e-Tourist Visa Valid?

The e-Tourist Visa is valid for entry through 16 Indian airports i.e. Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bengaluru, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Tiruchirapalli, Trivandrum & Varanasi. The eTV is not valid for entry from sea ports in India.

Applicants should carry a copy of the e-Tourist Visa at the time of travel.

Biometric details of the applicant will be collected by Immigration Officers upon arrival in India.


Yellow Fever Vaccination Card

Passport holders of yellow fever affected countries must carry a Yellow Fever Vaccination Card at the time of arrival in India, otherwise they may be quarantined for 6 days upon arrival in India. Visit the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare for the latest guidelines regarding yellow fever countries.

Related Information

Embassies in Washington DC Schengen Visas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top